Wax Learning Curve

I’m trying to learn how to use wax to make a recognisable landscape. I’m also trying to get the hang of writing with the stylus. The key word here is ‘trying’! Since the main feature of the wax seems to be that it goes where it wants to go no matter what you do I’m finding both things pretty difficult. The scene is based on American Alps Ranch, who have a wonderful blog over atย americanalps.wordpress.comย  and to who I apologise for making their lovely ranch look rather wobbly!

7 thoughts on “Wax Learning Curve

  1. Aw this is a really sweet piece. Wax sounds so difficult to work with! I think you did a great job. This makes me really want to visit the American alps… Thank you for sharing. Christine

  2. Great job – the ranch looks wonderful! I am truly impressed.

    I have zero artistic ability so how anyone can render a likeness that is recognizable is a mystery to me. Feel free to “practice” on the ranch anytime;) Maybe some day you can visit in person.

    • So glad you think its recognisable! (Phew!) I’ll let you know if I make any more, I’d love to try a wax calf. British Columbia is on my list of places I love to visit sometime in my life, and I think thats near you you guys. If I ever make it, I’ll let you know ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I’d love to see one of our calves in wax. They are so cute right now running around playing all the time – then they flop down and take a nap.

        We are about two hours south of Vancouver, B.C. so look us up if you ever get there.

  3. Pingback: The Ranch in Wax « American Alps Ranch

Leave a Reply

